First glace at v1.2

Discussions about using SIP Sorcery on your own computer/server
mgbfan78

First glace at v1.2

Post by mgbfan78 » Tue Feb 16, 2010 6:18 am

Aaron,

So far, so good. I downloaded and unzipped the package the other night. Since I am still a total NOOB with this stuff, I thought I would share my experiences so far.

After unzipping the package, I took a look at the docs to see what needed to be done to get setup and running. The instructions were clear and easy to follow.

-- Aaron, a suggestion -- save your instructions in .doc format. Some of us still run xp with office 2003.

I edited the sipdomains.xml file.

A note here --- don't run SS on a workstation that is using a dynamic IP address. It will be a real pain having to reconfigure your softphones/ATAs everytime the workstation address changes.

Anyway, after editing the file, I opened a DOS box and started the program.

I opened up Firefox and entered in the URL to connect to the SS GUI. Here is where I hit my first bump in the road. I have not taken the time to research it yet, but Firefox and Silverlight are not playing nice together. It opened up a blank tab, said it was downloading and then finished with a blank screen. Rather than stress about it, I justed started up IE and immediately got the familar SipSorcery login screen.

Aaron, it might be nice to include in the docs what the default username/password are just for reference. For those that are interested, the username is username and the password is password :D

I selected to create a new account. Everything was going great until the program said it needed to email me to complete the process.

Aaron, I am not knowingly running a mail transfer agent so at this point the account creation process stops as no email is sent anywhere that I am aware of. At this point, I edited the customers.xml file and flipped the flag to true to enable my new account.