Missing Schema File ?

Discussions about using SIP Sorcery on your own computer/server
Post Reply
DavidV
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 1:13 am

Missing Schema File ?

Post by DavidV » Tue Dec 29, 2015 1:22 am

I've just cloned the latest source from the codeplex repo, and trying to follow the instructions given in sipsorceyv2_install.txt
It says:
Create a new MySQL database called sipsorceryv2. The required schema is in the file sipsorceryv2_schema.sql
however I can't find sipsorceryv2_schema.sql in the current head, or indeed anywhere in the history of the repo since it was created.
Is the file just missing, or was it replaced by the other two schema files instead :?:

User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:13 am

Re: Missing Schema File ?

Post by Aaron » Sat Jan 02, 2016 8:31 am

Sorry the file was missing, I've committed it now: http://sipsorcery.codeplex.com/SourceCo ... schema.sql.

DavidV
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 1:13 am

Re: Missing Schema File ?

Post by DavidV » Sun Jan 03, 2016 5:44 am

Got it, thanks Aaron.
As I already had a MySQL server running on a Linux box, I tried running the script against it, but it failed on a few tables due to the Linux version of MySQL being case-sensitive. (Things like 'id' and 'ID' being used)
Worked ok on a Windows hosted server though.

DavidV
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 1:13 am

Re: Missing Schema File ?

Post by DavidV » Wed Jan 06, 2016 3:05 am

Aaron,

I've been running Vn 1.2 locally for a long time, using XML config files. Works well for my limited needs (1 phone, 1 mobile, switching between PennyTel, FakorTel, GoogleVoice, Iptel etc), but over time it grows to be one of the top memory users on my system, taking a major chunk of my 12GB RAM.

So, I've been trying to update to the latest version, working from your instructions in sipsorceyv2_install.txt, but I'm running into a problem and can't figure out where I've gone wrong. When trying to connect to the provisioning service I get the following screen:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/jd3kp52j5mhtj ... l.jpg?dl=0

It talks about CrossDomain problems, although the server seems to be sending the crossdomain.xml enabling file. However the message refers to https://localhost:8080 rather than http://localhost:8080, should the local server handle this or does it require a local IIS?

Any pointers as to what I need to do to get this going would be most appreciated.

User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:13 am

Re: Missing Schema File ?

Post by Aaron » Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:27 am

Yes IIS is needed.

Unfortunately at a certain point in time I made a decision to use Microsoft's WCF RIA Services (the number of acronyms should have been a big red flag). It was supposed to make wiring up web services easier for the Silverlight application but ultimately it's proven to have taken way more effort than had I just wired them all up by hand.

Any way the upshot is if you want to run the Silverlight client with the latest sipsorcery code then WCF RIA Services and IIS are needed.

DavidV
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 1:13 am

Re: Missing Schema File ?

Post by DavidV » Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:14 pm

I'm not so fussed about a Silverlight client specifically, I just want a simple way to copy my settings and scripts across from the 1.2 version, be able to monitor events from a console, etc.

Well, IIS isn't a problem, I have several versions of that running. But when I tried to follow the links in WCF RIA Services, everything kept on turning up Not Found. Looks like Microsoft is either in the middle of a big reorganization or they have just completely given up on keeping their own links alive.

Currently downloading SQLServer Express 2014 with Advanced Services (1.1GB) as I couldn't find the 2008 R2 version, none of the links to the Silverlight 5 Tools or WCF RIA tools seem to be working though. There are a lot of Nuget packages for "Open RIA Services" things, Silverlight and other, I don't know if that is the inheritor of the MS stuff or something different.

Just how much of this stuff do I need - or is there another way to configure my local setup?

[Edit: 7JAN15 - Looks like MS was just having a bad day yesterday, all of the download links are working this morning.]

User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:13 am

Re: Missing Schema File ?

Post by Aaron » Thu Jan 07, 2016 6:44 am

I've got the RIA services installer somewhere if you're still having difficulties acquiring it.

The sipsorcery server has no need for SQL server, express or otherwise.

DavidV
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 1:13 am

Re: Missing Schema File ?

Post by DavidV » Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:53 am

I think I have all the pieces in place now, including the SQL server advanced with test database to let me work through the examples, setting up a WCF RIA Silverlight application on IIS etc. Rather more than I can (or want to) get my head around at this stage, but the example worked.

I then figured I needed to "publish" to my local IIS the Sipsorcery.Web.Services project in the Sipsorcery-Core solution (as per https://msdn.microsoft.com/library/ff42 ... s.91).aspx ), but from a fresh clean Git head it wants to build when I try and publish, then comes up with 39 errors. (Meanwhile ReSharper reports 507 errors in 143 files, but it tends to go a bit overboard!)

Too tired to keep at it tonight, I may feel inspired to try again in the morning.

DavidV
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 1:13 am

Re: Missing Schema File ?

Post by DavidV » Fri Jan 08, 2016 2:50 am

Ok, there seem to be a couple of blocks to building with the code as-is.

The first was due to two different versions of log4net being referenced, with most projects referencing the older 1.2.13 version, but a couple using the 1.2.14 version, which broke things. I replaced the references to 1.2.14 with 1.2.13, which fixed that.

The next was the addition of a parameter MatchTimeoutInMilliseconds to the MS autogenerated code, which broke things for a lot of people. Microsoft says they will fix it in the next update, and there are a few workarounds available.
https://connect.microsoft.com/VisualStu ... -not-exist
http://www.redmountainsw.com/wordpress/ ... nds-error/

So I think I'll leave this for a while and go do as my wife asks, clean the windows so they are all sparkly for the BBQ she is planning for this weekend!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest