What is the wizard?

Feedback, issues & questions regarding the use of the Telis Wizard and Simple Wizard dial plans.
Post Reply
User avatar
medfordite
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 1:57 am
Location: Medford Oregon
Contact:

What is the wizard?

Post by medfordite » Thu May 12, 2011 3:28 am

So, can you put up a FAQ or something on the Wizard?

Is this meant to replace the Dial Plan that Mike Tellis provides on his site, or supplement it?

I have looked at the wizard and have gotten even more confused.

I for one am bridging GV with IpKall through here like a lot of people, and don't know if I would benefit from doing anything extra by using the wizard and if so, what is it's purpose?
-=-Frogs have it easy...they can eat what bugs them!-=-

User avatar
medfordite
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 1:57 am
Location: Medford Oregon
Contact:

Re: What is the wizard?

Post by medfordite » Tue May 24, 2011 12:00 am

*BUMP*
-=-Frogs have it easy...they can eat what bugs them!-=-

User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
Posts: 4552
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:13 am

Re: What is the wizard?

Post by Aaron » Tue May 24, 2011 10:26 am

It's meant to be a graphical implementation of Mike's dialplan. The wizard doesn't have any benefit over using the Ruby version except that in theory it should be easier to use. Given the feedback to date I think that theory may be a bit shakey.

User avatar
medfordite
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 1:57 am
Location: Medford Oregon
Contact:

Re: What is the wizard?

Post by medfordite » Wed May 25, 2011 4:17 am

So, can it be used to write a complete dialplan instead of coding or would it best to stick with the ruby code which is out there?
-=-Frogs have it easy...they can eat what bugs them!-=-

User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
Posts: 4552
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:13 am

Re: What is the wizard?

Post by Aaron » Wed May 25, 2011 4:33 am

Under the covers the wizard uses a version of Mike's Ruby dial plan and they should be very close in terms of features. I'd argue that it would be easier to maintain settings in the Wizard compared to a Ruby script. Ultimately it's up to each user to decide if they'd like to maintain a Ruby script dial plan or switch to the Wizard.

User avatar
medfordite
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 1:57 am
Location: Medford Oregon
Contact:

Re: What is the wizard?

Post by medfordite » Wed May 25, 2011 4:43 am

I agree that it would be easier. But, I am not seeing any place where I would put in say my Google Voice or IpKall number etc...to program in there. That is where I got quite confused I think.

Oh and BTW, just tinkering around in there switching tabs is producing some nice red text and debugging strings not available messages.
-=-Frogs have it easy...they can eat what bugs them!-=-

arampe
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 11:38 pm

Re: What is the wizard?

Post by arampe » Fri May 27, 2011 2:06 pm

Maybe we need to add google voice info in the VSP table ....there is a google voice or sip option .


Regards
Andy

raj2ras
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:13 am

Re: What is the wizard?

Post by raj2ras » Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:41 pm

I am trying the Telis Wizard and running into problems.

Does the "ProviderX" mentioned in the wizard relate to the "SIP Providers" tab at all? Does the dial plan generated in the back use the "SIP Providers" names at all. Works for Speed dials tab, but none others.

The error I get is: ** Error: The given key was not present in the dictionary.

A simple example of what one enters in the wizard fields would be sufficient:

Sample problem:

I have a SIP provider (named 01R_TollFree) that handles toll free calls in US. If dialed pattern begins with 1800, 1888 or 1866 route call via 01R_TollFree. How does one do this in Telis Wizard?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest